Favourite childhood books for World Book Day

generations-665x719Blimey, I’m a bit overdue an update round here, aren’t I? I can only hope having an image of Christmas tree on your blog in March doesn’t count the same as leaving the decorations up after twelfth night…

I’ve been horribly – by which I mean wonderfully – busy, with readings at Summerhall and Flora Stevenson Primary, a couple of short story commissions, and I’m also deeply embroiled in two Secret Projects – which I’ll tell you about as soon as I can…

And next week, I’m at Aye Write! book festival!

Today though is World Book Day, and inspired by Paul Magrs’ blog, I’d like to share with you some of my favourite books as a kid. I think this mix of wild adventure, mad fantasy & science-fiction, strange eccentric characters and silly humour had a¬†huge impact on me growing up, and also on the type of writer I am (and hope to be). All of these stand up to re-reading as an adult, so whatever age you are, you might want to take a closer look at some of these classic tales…

What were your favourite novels? Leave me a comment – and a link to your blog too, if you like – below.

Happy World Book Day!

photo4

photo3

photo2

photo1ginger

5 thoughts on “Favourite childhood books for World Book Day

  1. Pingback: Favourite childhood books for World Book Day – Writing Fiction
    • Great to see your favourites, Caroline! I have to say the ‘Cucumber King’ looks highly disturbing. Never read the Moomin books, but my partner has the comic strips which are a masterclass in surrealism.

      And your book about the boy and the clock that chimes thirteen times? It has to be “Tom’s Midnight Garden”. I actually only read it as an adult, and I must say, keep a handkerchief ready. The ending is very moving. Seems a likely influence on Steven Moffat’s Doctor Who as well.

      • Thank you! That sounds like the one – a garden is involved somewhere. I’ve added it to the list of books that this exercise made me realise I need to buy.

  2. Ok… I was reminded recently while reading a manuscript of how much I loved Enid Blyton’s Mallory Towers series. The similarity lay in the sense of complete immersion in that world, total empathy with the characters. Eve Garnett’s Family from One End Street trilogy was another favourite. Jeff Brown’s Flat Stanley would have to get a mention… But it was E B White’s Charlotte’s Web that blew me away.

Leave a Reply

