Festivals and shadows…

WP_20150826_18_47_39_Pro__highresSummer is drawing to a close, and I thought I’d take a moment to update my blog on a couple of things I’ve been up to…

It was a big thrill to appear alongside Paul Magrs at a sell out Edinburgh International Book Festival event. We read from our most recent novels – Werewolf Parallel for me and Lost on Mars for Paul – talked about fantasy fiction versus science fiction, our favourite childhood books and the pleasure of re-reading and much, much more. I think we could’ve spoken for another hour very easily!

WP_20150826_19_19_44_Pro__highresWP_20150826_19_37_25_Pro__highresIt was great to chat to people afterwards, and I was especially pleased when several of Paul’s fans and readers said they were going to give my novels a go too – and indeed vice versa. I’ve always thought that this was what these sort of team-up events should be about, really — kind of like going along to a gig, discovering you like the first act, and buying their CD at the interval…

Here’s a smashing write-up from the ever diligent Bookwitch and one from Laura who has been a twitter pal for a while and came along to say hello and get her ‘werewolf’ signed…

I also had a chance in August to meet up with fellow Dark Shadows writers Rob Morris and Will Howells and Big Finish producer Joe Lidster. We recorded a podcast discussing the process of writing this year’s audio dramas PANIC (by me!) and THE CURSE OF SHURAFA (by Rob) , the late director Lela Swift, Dorian Gray, Edinburgh, the Dark Shadows Every Day blog and, of course, bacon. Or was it French Toast?

You can find the podcast below – and it’s also available as a MP3 to download or via iTunes.  I hope it’ll be of interest – there’s plenty of clips throughout (including an excerpt from the Daemon Parallel audiobooks) so there should be something to intrigue you, even if you’re not (yet!) a Dark Shadows convert.

Running a workshop on creating fantasy fiction for the Advanced Higher Creative Writing Conference – my fourth year as a tutor! – kicked off September. A great bunch of students as always – and lovely to catch up with Kirkland Ciccone (the brains behind this year’s inaugural Yay!YA+ event).

I’m now working hard on projects new – one of which at least should be released next year. My next writer credit to go out will be the opening episode of The Confessions of Dorian Gray: Season 4 – “The Enigma of Dorian Gray”. Mr Gray himself seems keen — which is a relief, you really don’t want to annoy these capricious immortals — and I hope you will be too, but you’ll need to wait till November to find out what he’s on about…

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 17.46.31Catch you later!

Leave a Reply

